A Scent of Rose

This morning I immersed myself in a bath of rose petals that I bought in from my garden.  The water was warm and the scent of fresh roses fill the air.  I was able to relax completely.  I picked up a petal and with great curiosity I began to observe its beauty.  At the base of the petal was a soft yellow image which spread out like wings of an angel.  Tiny veins proceeded to make there way to edges in such intricate detail.  I was amazed at how nature creates and began to reflect on my own veins in my body and how they are not much different from the veins in the rose petal.

Taking in a deep breath and smelling the scent of rose I was brought back to a significant moment in my life.   I remembered lying in bed in the days before my mastectomy praying to the Goddess Mother Mary.  I would feel my head nestled in her lap as she stroked my hair holding me and witnessing my fears, sadness and defeats.  I felt her energy strong and the scent of roses filled the air even though there were no roses to be found by my bedside.  She immersed me in love and although I still  had to go through what was ahead of me, her gentle touch comforted me and held my tears.

In the bath I began to place the rose petals upon my mastectomy breast covering it completely with petals.  It felt like a sacred ritual and Mary again being present reminding me I am one with all that lives.  I then place a singular petal on my other breast it felt like an art form and I was immersed in the grace of the healing water, silence and reflection. Blessed by the elements, the earth and the Blessed Mother.

In a few weeks I will be present in the day I discover that my cells had another plan for me. I know in time this day will seem in the far distant and I may even start to forget it but for now I am humbled by the gentle memories of universe and Mary reminding me to live fully in each and every moment.

Infinite love,

Kimberly

 

2 thoughts on “A Scent of Rose

  1. Kim

    I don’t know where to go . I read all you have written not only will this inspire people of need . Will give them hope for a future life . Hopefully heal some wounds in the process . As always I must end with a song , wish you and your friends ” love and happiness “. Dad kbailey1223 posted: “This morning I immersed myself in a bath of rose petals that I bought in from my garden. The water was warm and the scent of fresh roses fill the air. I was able to relax completely. I picked up a petal and with great curiosity I began to observe its b”

Leave a comment